Halfway through getting PCM to work

At the time I started writing this post, I did not have a sure answer as to whether the board’s PCM was working correctly; however, debugging was fun, so I decided to start writing without finishing first. To take things in order, as soon as I got the board to ring a phone set, the next thing I did was to augment the functionality of the controller so as to display direct and indirect registers together. Here is the result (the rightmost cluster of values are the indirect registers — and, yes, I know a descriptive text label is missing there, but I was too lazy to add it).

Controller capture, now with indirect registers

Controller capture, now with indirect registers

After finishing with that (and re-soldering the crystal, which decided right then to break loose on one of its pins, giving me almost a heart attack when the board suddenly died on me), I turned to PCM audio. The test scenario I had in mind was to make the board reproduce an audio message on the phone. To that end, I implemented two more firmware functions, one for sending and one for receiving chunks of PCM audio data (there are lots of things to discuss here, but I am leaving this discussion for a bit later). Supposedly, these functions would write(/read) data  to(/from) the output(/input) ring(s) in the ISR area, respecting the input and output ring pointers so as to not overwrite any data. Then, I wrote a piece of code in my controller program which would open a file with PCM μ-law data and use the new function to send these over USB. As simple as that.

Am I catching anyone by surprise here by saying that this didn’t work? I guess not… Letting aside a really stupid bug (in the first tries, an off-by-one error resulted in a 0xFF ‘RESET BOARD’ command being sent over, so instead of producing audio, the thing was rebooting!), nothing but “line noise” could be heard on the phone. A quick first glance through the 3210 datasheet revealed I had forgotten to set DR 1 to 0x28 (set PCME bit to enable PCM audio). After that, the phone started producing a clicking sound that did not even distantly remind of the original audio. OK, better than nothing, I agree, but still not what I wanted.

I then played with firmware, instructing the board to ignore the data sent via USB and just send out zeros. The clicking sound should disappear, but it did not. Looking carefully through the firmware code, I found that I had incorrectly configured the DRX and DTX PIC ports (DRX is the receive PCM path for the 3210, not for the PIC). Fixing this (it took me two trials, because these were also wrong in the TIMR1 ISR assembly code) made it: the clicking sound disappeared. Good! [I am not sure what was causing the clicking sound. My most plausible explanation is that, since both the 3210 and PIC were placing the DRX line in high-impedance state, the line was acting like a small antenna and collecting noise from some other nearby signal on the board.]

Then this time PCM ought to work, right? Well, it did not. So I decided to preload the output ring with some data. This did not fix it either. This was suggesting that my ISR code was not correct in sending out PCM data. I then changed all BSF (bit set) and BCF (bit clear) instructions driving the DRX line with BTG (bit toggle) ones. Of course, the result would not be audible, because this represents a constant value (0b10101010, or 0xCC) being sent to the 3210; however, the resulting pattern should be easily distinghuishable on the oscilloscope. But what I saw on the glass was certainly not what I was expecting. Here are the PCLK and FSYNC signals. The resolution is such that more than two full ISR cycles are displayed:

PCLK        FSYNC(you may wish to click on the pictures to examine them in full size). Here is the puzzling DRX signal:

DRX signal

DRX signal

This was certainly looking wrong. To remind you about my TIMR1 ISR, the code was supposed to distinguish four ‘phases’ within a FSYNC period. All PCM I/O should occur during the first phase; instead, it seemed that the ISR code responsible for the first phase was executing three times. Back into the PIC datasheet, I found my bug: I was checking the C (carry) status bit after decrementing a counter value from zero to 0xFF with a DECF instruction; instead, I should have checked the N (negative) status bit. Fixed that, re-checked with the scope, and — voilà!

Fixed DRX test signal

Fixed DRX test signal

Of course, I would not leave  without measuring the DTX signal (PCM input from the phone to the 3210 to the PIC). Here is what this looked like:

DTX signal

DTX signal

There are two things to note here. The first is that the actual data seems to consist of a constant 0xFF pattern (which seems OK, since in u-Law encoding this corresponds to a decoder output of zero). The second noticeable thing is the ramp-like pattern to the right of each 0xFF logic-true. This can be explained by the fact that during non-transmission periods, 3210’s DTX pin goes tri-state, and the respective PIC input is also tri-stated. So, this pattern probably corresponds to a high-frequency signal while the energy captured in the transmission line between the 3210 and the PIC gradually discharges through a high-impedence path to the GND level.

What seemed encouraging here was that, when I spoke to the phone, I was able to note some “noise” in the data part, with the ramp-like part consisting of lower-placed ramps. This fits nicely with the above theory, since actual u-Law data contains some zeros, corresponding to the “noise” in the data part and an equally lower ramp-like “trajectory” to the GND level being displayed thereafter. So, the PCM receive path (although called DTX, it is the receive path) was rather working, although I was not collecting any data yet.

What about the transmit path? Well, that was not ready yet. It took another day or two until I noticed that the underrun test condition I had provided for in the ISR code was not ever taken care of. In order to avoid echoing, I had also provided for an execution path that stops transmitting PCM if a data underrun condition is detected. When removing that, I finally heard the 125-Hz (which is 1 / 8ms, consisting of a repeating pattern of test data) test sound I was expecting. But what about the actual audio data? Well… The pace at which the controller currently sends data to the board is very slow.

Actually, this is the interesting part! In contrast to writing, say, a flash disk driver, where I would be able to use 1-kB blocks, in PCM audio one needs to pass about small “chunks” of data in an isochronous manner.  If the chunks get too large, then there will be considerable (and audible) delay introduced in the audio path. If the chunks get too small however, an overrun or underrun condition gets more likely to occur. So, what is the best chunk size there, given the actual processing power of the PIC? And, most important of all, is the PIC fast enough to cope with these requirements?

To answer these questions, I took a fresh look at the USB code sample by Microchip, upon which my code has been built. It seems that the sample code is not really very effective. Lots of functions that call other functions, which in turn copy data around — very wasteful. The PIC can perform at warp-speed when doing USB transfers, using parallel dedicated hardware. But then, data are placed in a special RAM location, and the sample code copies this to “user space”, freeing the buffer back to the USB hardware. Thus, although I am not sure yet, it looks like I can save me lots and lots of wasted PIC cycles by throwing away my transmit and receive rings and interfacing directly between USB memory and my ISR.

Another, more mundane problem that has been getting away so far is that the FSYNC pulse needs to be shifted one PCLK earlier: I am raising and lowering PCLK within the first ISR cycle, but the 3210 datasheet on p.16 (and other places) is clear: PCM transfer starts at the first rising edge of PCLK after the falling edge of FSYNC. Hmm… This means that I need to move the code that pulses the FSYNC at the 31st cycle of my ISR.

Summarizing here, the good news is that PCM path of the board works both ways (well, so to speak…). So, it is time to look more closely at the actual firmware of the board and optimize the transfer paths, while at the same time keeping an eye at zaptel compatibility. It cannot be that hard, can it? So, I hope to be back soon with even better news!

Update, April 15: there seems to be a PIC USB configuration, called “ping-pong buffering” which seems to fit nicely my needs (although I am not yet entirely convinced about that). That thing works by using odd and even-numbered buffers, whose ownership is alternated between the CPU and the chip’s USB engine with a single bit change (in other words, very fast). More can be found in the PIC 18F2550 datasheet, p.177. Currently, I am studying that in parallel with Microchip’s USB stack code to check how easy it will be to adapt the sample USB stack code provided by Microchip into what I need.

Leave a Reply

