Control-Alt-Delete: a bit of History

This blog is about an open design for a FXS (Foreign Exchange System) board that will communicate to a PC (or other system, such as a cheap embedded-Linux-based DSL router) over USB. Before I (re-)start writing this blog, I would like to share with readers a bit of history.

I first set up this blog at an unfortunately-chosen public blog site, http://blog.techteam.gr (I chose it because of its .gr domain suffix, since I come from Greece too). One day, my blog disappeared without any prior notice or other explanation. The administrators of that site (supposing they exist) never responded to the mails I sent to admin@blog.techteam.gr and postmaster@blog.techteam.gr, and of course never did they restore my blog as well. Well done, guys… Bottom line: don’t host your blog there.

Fortunately, I managed to salvage my content from Google’s cache, otherwise I would not have the courage to start over again posting from scratch. I am going to re-create the original series of posts, although the current state of the project is not at its best.

The idea for this design is not mine. It belongs to David Rowe (http://www.rowetel.com). David had the initial idea for a $10 ATA. I discussed the idea of a USB FXS board, and David suggested using a PIC for this. The next posts show how this thing evolved. The one thing I owe here is to thank David for all his support and encouraging help, without which this project would have never existed.

This project is about Open Hardware. Much like Open Software, this project’s results, including schematic, PCB design files, firmware, software, etc. are intended to be open and shared among as many different people as possible. As with several open-source projects, I have chosen the GPL license as a vehicle for making sure that the results of this project are and will remain open. This means that the files etc. from this project, whether posted on this blog or on the sourceforge.net site that I have created for the project (temporarily emtpy, but I hope to populate it soon), can be copied, used, modified, shared, etc. by anyone, as long as the original author is mentioned and the source remains open (plus much of the firmware source is derivative work based on source code from Microchip, so I have to sort out the situation for this as well).

Happy reading then. Let’s move on!

Leave a Reply

